How to get clearer vocals in Ovox

I’m new to Ovox and I’ve done a little testing, but I am overwhelmed by all of the adjustments/controls available in the interface. I have contacted Waves support about this, but I will try looking for suggestions here, too.

I have a MIDI track in Cakewalk with notes to my melody already entered. Then I recorded singing words for that melody in an audio track. I want to send the audio from that track to Ovox and have the pitch of the notes controlled by the notes I entered in the MIDI track. I got that part working by adding Ovox as an FX in the audio track and then selecting Ovox as the output for the MIDI track. I am blown away. Now my vocals sound in the Ovox internal synth at perfect pitch as directed by the MIDI notes.

The point I’m trying to improve is I want to hear the words more clearly. I know one possible solution is to have a copy of the vocals and mix in some of the unprocessed vocals. I don’t want to do that. In some cases I may record my vocals at a lower pitch before having Ovox adjust them to the notes in the MIDI track.

I’ve been playing with the controls in Ovox and it’s getting better but the words are still a little fuzzy. Can you give me some suggestions for how to clear up the speech/words of the vocal singing in Ovox?

Yeah intelligibility has never been strong suit of synth vocoders. Part of the trick is how you use the “unvoiced” elements. I think this is represented by the Sibilance control in Ovox.

Basically it should control the amount of percussive consonant sounds that get mixed in. Sounds like K’s T’s B’s. Blending some of that back in can help a vocal sound more intelligible.

Another trick you can try is instead of blending a copy of the original track, as you’re trying to avoid, you can blend in a version that has everything below 4-5Khz filtered out. So all you get is those upper percussive and S style sounds. This won’t help much with lower plosive sounds though, like B or even P.