Using WLM Plus in Final Cut Pro

Hi, complete newb here, looking to understand how to best use WLM Plus in Final Cut Pro on a timeline with a huge variety of audio clips and different music tracks to prep for broadcast. Condense into compound clips? I’ve read the manual and it’s not much help. Don’t see much YouTube videos on the topic. I’m willing to pay someone for an hour consult who has real-world experience working with Final Cut and WLM Plus delivering videos for clients. Thanks so much.

Yeah its not as easy in FCPX as many still easily await a Role Mixer.

Either Compound clip, The problem with using a basic copy & paste preset for each cup is that your long term readings will only be as long as the clip. That’s of course not a desirable outcome sine you really want to be measuring average the audio level of the whole project.

Without a Role Mixer the only way to feasibly do this is wrapping everything in a compound clip. The advantage of using a compound clip is you can also add your final color treatment there too, bringing that into spec as well.

What spec you use for WLM will depend a little on where it’s destined for, as with image specs.

2 Likes

Thanks so much Simon, that was my hunch on how to proceed. Would you recommend wrapping the soundtrack into the compound clip, or leaving that as a separate file to maintain its level continuity throughout? If I do that, I’m not sure how that affects the LUFS.

Its an interesting prospect. Ultimately though, dialogue music and effects all have to go out the same set of speakers, so to speak. So one thing that is certainly worth considering is making sure ALL the audio is wrapped in a single compound clip so you can manage the final output. This is also where I would put WLM

Outside that you could wrap dialogue, effects and music in their own compound clips. This would allow you to mack changes to them as groups, but separately. It certainly makes volume management easier too.