Could Someone Give me Advice on Optimizing Waves Plugins for Live Performances?

Hello there,

I am a musician and sound engineer who has recently started incorporating Waves plugins into my live performances; and I could use some advice from those of you with more experience in this area.

I am using a combination of Waves plugins for vocals; guitars; and keyboards during live sets. While I am generally pleased with the quality and versatility they provide; I have encountered a few challenges that I am hoping to get some input on:

During live performances; I have noticed some latency with certain plugins. Are there specific plugins known for lower latency that you would recommend? Or perhaps there are some best practices for managing and minimizing latency in a live setting?

Running multiple plugins simultaneously can sometimes strain my system. I am using a fairly powerful laptop; but I still run into CPU usage problems occasionally. Are there any tips for optimizing CPU usage or settings within the Waves plugins to ensure smoother performance?

I am constantly experimenting with different signal chains and presets to find the best sound. Do you have any tried and true signal chain setups or preset recommendations for live vocals and instruments?

I am particularly interested in achieving a balanced mix that stands out without overwhelming the overall sound.

Lastly; reliability is paramount during live shows. Have you encountered any stability issues with Waves plugins during live performances? If so; how did you address them? Any tips for ensuring the plugins run flawlessly during a set would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your help and assistance. :innocent:

hi @lizaclarraa

concerning latency: if you use Superrack, you should be able to see the latency of each plugin and of each rack. Most of the time the plugins aren’t the big number, the underlying audio driver of the laptop usually has much higher latency numbers.