NLS and Scheps Omni Channel... redundant?

My first post. I hope it’s in the right subforum. I am an amateur mixer.

I am working on a mix and on many individual tracks I am using NLS as well as Scheps Omni. I understand one of the benefits of NLS is the ability to choose different consoles, but I was just wondering if the Scheps Omni Channel already has a console emulation in the input section.

I know that “if it sounds good, it is good”, but am still seeking opinions on how more experienced people view this.

Actually, the Omni desert emulate any desk in particular. The idea was to take the concept of a channel strip and modernise it. I like to think that if they were to build an ultra modern desk these days it’s strips would result in something very similar to the Omni.

It doesn’t emulate the subtle differences between each channel strip in a mixing console. It does give you some very flexible saturation tools, but it doesn’t do that. But thats a good thing because you can use NLS to supplement it. You could even set it up as an Insert inside Omni by default.

1 Like

That’s good info. Thank you, Simon.

1 Like

I have a good answer for you, as I recently investigated to see if it was still worth using NLS since I use Scheps Omni Channel on every track.

If you run a 100hz or 1khz sine wav through NLS you can see the harmonics it produces if you use something like PAZ Analyzer (or Voxengo Span which is free, and higher resolution.) Note that it helps to expand the range down to -144db when evaluating harmonic distortion because sometimes plugins to low-level changes which you won’t see if your analyzer cuts off at 90db or something.

When you evaluate the harmonic distortion in NLS you’ll see that yes, all three consoles are different, and every channel is a little different as well. Does it matter in that specific regard? That’s questionable, because harmonic distortion varies based on your input signal. So sound already varies.